Palliative Drug

Get these thoughts out of my head!

Skincare Regime in Military Style (Part 2)

on 19 July 2010

YAY!  PART 2!!!

*notes tat I’m the only one excited abt it*

oh well…

I’m not kidding you when I say tat my skincare regime has gone thru MANY research… and trialS & errorS (they deserve capital S’s for the uncountable times i hv gone thru the process) before I found the one tat suits me the most.   For your info, I have super sensitive skin.  And I’m freckled… oh well, you kw all abt it already in Part I (read it here).

In recent years (like 3yrs back), I started developing a stubborn acne on the right corner of my chin.  You kw the kind that you can’t pop becuz it’s beneath the surface??  It’s VERY irritating, I assure you.  Seriously, I tried so many things & methods & combinations & skin doctors that I gave up a while:

1)  I tried leaving it alone & obviously it stays as a permanent resident. 

2)  I tried slapping on all kinds of acne cream, but my skin dried up + lots of flaking + agitated the original acne by giving birth to even more baby zits (they are like mutants w/ rapid multiplying abilities). 

3)  Saw 2 or 3 doctors who prescribed nothing but antibiotics and some useless white cream thing.  I seriously needed more help than they can give me.

4)  Facial products but a few of them actually activated another virus of mine.  COLD SORES, for some reason.  sigh… I’m like the epitome of serious skin problems.

To make it worse, I recently bought a bottle of Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil (the purple one, supposedly for whitening skin) & that product totally RUINED my skin!!!  I dun care who are the Hollywood big shots who swear by this product, but I would give them a piece of my $&@*#(&@)!^ mind for misleading innocent gullible ppl like me.  Apparently, this oil is too rich for me.  And it caused a continuous 2-3 weeks massive breakout of mini-zits all around my mouth/lip area.  Actually after tat episode, I’m still having occasional breakouts around that area… it’s like tat product activated some oily gland on my face!!!  It was very devastating.  I tried EVERYTHING to salvage the situation, but nothing works.  My whole face was oily for quite some time.  By right, I’m a combination skin type.  Then, I became like an oily skin (oily on the cheeks & even more oily on T-zone).  Weird, right?!?!?!  Anyway, then I did some research on this god-forbidden product & found out that some poor souls out there have similar reactions like mine!  Breakouts!  However, there are others who swear by this product (esp those who experience cold dry weather) & it works great for them.  I am still carrying the marks from that massive breakout.  HORRIBLE.  I didn’t want to go to work at all.  I was so damn self-conscious & ppl’s eyes were darting to my mouth area while talking to me.  Must be thinking, “eeeeeee… never wash mouth after eating“.  *dies from embarrassment*… *sings Christina Aguilera’s song – don’t look at me, I am beautiful… no matter what they say… words can’t bring meeee downnnnnn… ohh ohh yeahhh ahhhh*…

I gave tat cleansing oil to mummy though.  It didn’t harm her in any way.  She told me my auntie is using it & thought it was good too.  Hmmmm… maybe that cleansing oil is for old *cough*  i mean, mature women.

Anyway, 2 months have passed & I am STILL getting breakouts around the mouth/lip/chin area.  What the bloody hell did that Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil do to me?!?!

Therefore, I did a lot of research thru the internet (and again, how much info on cyberspace can we actually trust??  but it’s worth a try).

I read that if the mouth/lip area is always infected with zits, it could be the fluctuating hormone levels that is associated with women’s menstruation cycle.  Not sure how true that is, but somehow it makes sense for me.  Again I stress that this all happens AFTER using that Shu Uemura product… whenever my cycle is nearing, I tend to pop A LOT of tiny zits around my chin & lips.  Ok, not really A LOT.  But 3 or 4 of these pus-like zits are enough to drive me CRAZY.  I think Shu Uemura added some kind of hormones into their products to harm little girls like me.

Well, if you’re a guy who experiences this same problem area, then…………….. ummmm… … I hv absolutely no idea why men go thru hormone changes, but you might want to take care of your skin as well.

Ppl around me always tell me tat my skin is not tat bad or tat I’m exaggerating abt my skin problems, but don’t we all want PERFECT SKIN????  Don’t we all want to look like flawless 20yr olds even when we’re 40????

Digressing – I totally approve of the Old Chang Kee store at Suntec Tower 4!!!  Their curry puffs are much nicer than any other Old Change Kee stores.  *munch slurp yum*… the crust texture alone is fabulous!  I’m also having fried spicy cuttlefish on a stick + chicken mee sua for lunch.  Dun really like the body part of the cuttlefish becuz it’s disgustingly mushy, but the legs are delicious.  =)   The chicken mee sua is rather nice.  See?!?!  With all these fried unhealthy food, all the more I have to look after my skin.  I’m not kidding when I say that my skin becomes more oily if I eat unhealthily over a period of time.  Really support Freddie Kruger’s statement in Nightmare on Elm Street, “you are what you eat“… while he forces this guy (or was it a girl) to stuff his fat face until he bloats up into Jabba the Hut.  My life has never been the same again after Freddie.  Oh, and Chucky as well.  I hate dolls who walk around at night or when nobody’s watching.  Tat’s why I nvr play with Barbie when I was younger.  There is something creepy abt tat perfect looking doll.  I still think she gets up in the middle of the night to comb my hair.  Be nice, Barbie.  Peace.

Honestly, I dunno how approved my skincare regime is, so try it at your own risk.  Some say it’s good to stick to one product that works for your skin.  But for me, I always use a combination of products depending on what I feel my skin needs at that time.  It’s like dressing yourself up for the day.  Do you feel slutty tonight?  Then wear low-cut top + high slit skirt.  Or maybe you feel tat you need a little serious in your life & decide to go for black suit?  Do you feel fat / skinny today?  It’s the same for my skin!

1st-STEP CLEANSING:
I usually put on a little BB cream from Beauty Credit & some eyeliner.  So when I get home, I gotta clean it off. 

After tat traumatising Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil episode, I had to hunt for a good make-up remover.  Gentle yet efficient.  I stumbled upon The Face Shop.  Truth is, I have never stepped into this store in all its years here in Singapore.  But then again, I dun really step into any other cosmetic / beauty product stores.   Never felt the need to take care of my skin until only recently.   But they dun hv any all-in-one makeup remover like Shu Uemura.  The saleslady was like, “oh Koreans dun believe in all-in-one makeup remover becuz they feel that the eyes & face need different treatment“………. ………. ………….. ………… ok fine, that makes sense.

In the end, I bought that Herb Day Lip/Eye Makeup Remover (EMR) & Green Tea Cleansing Emulsion (CE).  I have been using for almost 2 months.  And both are great!!!


You kw how sometimes you use eye products & they give you milia becuz it’s too oily or something??  Then if you’re THAT vain, you’ll hv to go to an eye surgeon to remove the milia for you??  Well, the Herb Day EMR didn’t give me any milia & I use it 5 out of 7 days.  It cleans out any eye makeup easily!!  *gold star gold star*!!! 


As for the Green Tea CE, I cleanse my face with it 3 our of 7 days & it didn’t cause any weird breakouts as well. HORRAY! *gold star gold star*! Btw, I also use the Green Tea CE to wash my hands after applying my face with makeup & BB cream.  Dunno if it’s some psychological effect, but my hands look younger too.  Or it could be The Face Shop Peach & Promegranate Hand Lotion tat I apply religiously at work at least twice a day or each time after I wash my hands with soap.  In fact, I use it on my whole arms & legs.

  

  

1.5-STEP CLEANSING:
Every alternate days, I’ll use a skin exfoliator to get rid of all my dead skin cells.  Currently using Bioessence Skin White Revitalizing Exfoliator. See?  It’s even the winner of our Cleo magazine.  I’ve been using this for about 2 months also & I can see that my face really doesn’t have tat many black spots (aka blackheads) anymore.  They have another range that contains ATP (supposedly for cell renewal or regeneration).  You know who’s the spokesperson for the ATP range????  Vivian Hsu, okay?!?!  Exactly how old is that woman?!  She is so lovely.  I so want to try the ATP Skin Exfoliator.  It’s close to S$30.

  

Or when I feel like it, I also use The Face Shop Flebeaute Diamond Peeling.  It sounds damn luxurious, right??  The scrub grains are sooooo fine that it doesn’t feel like it’s too abrasive.  I kw the correct way to use a scrub is to wet your face, then rub the scrub gently on your face like it’s a cleanser.  But for me, I keep my face DRY.  Then apply a thin layer of scrub cream over my face & leave it for a few mins like a mask.  After tat, I pat a little water on it & massage it all over.  I started this becuz I thought that I shd let whatever nutrients or properties in that cream to be absorbed into my skin first before I wash it off, right?????  I dunno… but for me, the effect is much better tat way.  I only used this a few times, but I can visually see my face fairer.  Could it be some kind of white colouring in the product???  I have no idea, but it hasn’t given me any breakouts so far.  I can’t find a good pic of it on the internet (maybe becuz I’m bad at research), but live with it.

Just came to mind that I have just received some Korean products that were brought back by this girl.  She’s a Singaporean & makes frequent trips to Korea to buy direct from their stores.  Seriously, it is cheaper.  Gina went over a few months ago & got beauty products at a super low cost.  I’ll post ALL THOSE PICS UP!!!  She gave some free samples as well.  I see some stuff which mummy would like to try out… some Gold Caviar face thingy from Skin Food…. i forgot what it’s actually called.  I’ll just put these up in my blog post as Part 3.  Some products you can’t find in Singapore yet.  I’m going to be generous & give Gina the whitening stuff becuz she told me that she’s into fair skin (plus I think I’m fair enough, except for freckles & dark eye circles…. hmmm… somehow fair skin + dark eye circles remind me of Zhen1 Zi3 from The Ring)…. also becuz she’s been such a little Santa Claus & gave me some of the products that she bought from Korea.  GO GINA!  *heart heart*

Oh no, Gina asked for some dark bloody red nail polish from Tony Moly in Korea for like S$4.50.  The girl bought the darkest red she can find, but after I tried it on my little pinky fingernail, it is red with a slightly pinkish hue to it.  hmmm… but the texture of the nail polish has a smooth consistency.  It dries quite fast too (or maybe it’s becuz I applied just 1 coat of paint).  It’s not that bad.

*paints a 2nd coat*… woooo.. ok… it looks like vampire red now.

Oh oh oh… i just want to add some extra information pertaining to that flactuating skin hormone thing I said earlier.  As I was researching on why I recently have breakouts around my mouth/lips area, it so happens that I found out that LAVENDAR can stabalise this imbalance of hormones.  Apparently, using products that contain lavendar oil can help me.  SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo, being the experimental me, I immediately decided to go The Face Shop to get their Herb Therapy Lavendar & Neroli face sheet.  I should say this all in big letters – IT WORKS (i would increase font size too, but wordpress.com won’t allow me to f***ing do it… frustrated now, so now I’m just going to highlight it with multi-colors)!!!!!!!!!!!  After the 1st use, that reddish patch on the right corner of my chin subsided!!!  And the tiny zits around the lips are… not gone (fat hope), but it ripens & pops w/o much damage!!!!  Ok ok ok… just to be sure, I’m going to use it a 2nd time tonight before I sleep.

Note:  This is supposed to be after your cleanser & toner.  The instructions say not to wash off, but I still kind of LIGHTLY rinse it off becuz for The Face Shop mask sheets, they always tend to leave a sticky residue.

  

 

Some random ranting:  Whenever you buy a foreign product & there are foreign words on that packaging, do you ever wonder what it actually says????  Becuz as I browse thru Korean products, the only translation you get is what the sales assistants tell you.  It’s seems like a simplified version of what’s written on the product description.  Like when you go to Japan with a translator to translate Japanese conversations to English for you.  At the restaurant, the waitress is saying, “Konichiwa… blah blah blah wa… ah no… blah blah blah… oishi… blah blah blah blah… unagi… blah blah blah blah… blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah deska?  blah blah blah blah.. watashi wa blah blah blah *drones on*“.  Then after she’s done talking, you look at your translator & he is like, “oh they sell fish & curry here“.

(-_-)… … … … … … ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!?!!

You get my drift.

So when I look at the face mask packet, I see those Korean words (in some handwritten font type) at the top portion of the packet w/ the arrow pointing out.  It looks like it’s saying something fun.  But wat do I know?  I can’t read Korean.  If you really want me to guess, I think it says, “This is a light purple dot“.  If you stare really hard at those letterings, there seems to be some…. 4D lottery numbers in there.  Or is it just me???????

  

2nd-STEP CLEANSING:
Huh… only 2nd step ah?!?!?!  Somehow blogging abt this is more tiring than the actual steps.

Ok, so after both 1st step & that 1.5 step, I usually will go take a shower.  And at the same time, I will wash my face with a cleanser.

Right now, I’m using 2 cleaners (but I’m thinking of adding a 3rd one on my bathroom shelf).

1 – Bioessence Hydra Spa Deep Moisturizing Cleansing Foam (damn long name)

I usually use this in the mornings, when I feel that my face doesn’t need EXTRA cleaning… or when it feels tight. Actually the whole series sound good & I visited the write-ups for Bioessence & was impressed with the professional touch to the whole website (even though they only carry their products in supermarkets / pharmacies & do not have their own stores in Singapore… hmm… or do they? nope. i dun recall that they do).

2 – Beauty Credit Acnever Skin Shower

THIS i use when I come back from work or if I’m out the whole day or after attending BBQs. It just makes me feel EXTRA clean.  But I heard from the stores that this has been discontinued & will be replaced with the Bamboo Skin Shower. Whatever that is, I bought a bottle to try it out. I have not finished my Acnever, so didn’t try out the Bamboo yet. It better not give me any breakouts, or I’ll splash industrial cleaning liquids on all the Beauty Credit shop assistants.

Considering to add #3 – The Face Shop Lavendar Cleanser (for OBVIOUS reasons)

This would be good to try out for balancing my raging hormones during my period cycles (if I had any imbalance hormones in the first place… … both the internet & my skin are in a really confusing place right now).  I’m really thinking of adding this collection. Plus now is the Great Singapore Sale! The Face Shop is having 20% off storewide & members get to have an additional 5% off. YIPPEE!

Side note again.  Do all of you have a standard routine when you take a shower????  For me, I always shampoo my hair first.  Then I rinse it off.  After that, I will put on conditioner & leave it on while I soap my body with all kinds of different products.  In fact, I sometimes mix my shower foams… hahahahaha.  I’ll get an ultra-moisturing body wash (like Olay), squeeze some on my palm & mix a little body scrub into it (stir well.. hehehe).  So this way, I’ll get a nicely scrubbed super-moisturized body.  Best of both worldssssssssssss!!!  =D  After rinsing off both conditioner & body foam, I’ll brush my teeth & wash my face with a cleanser.  And last step will always be washing my…. err…. nether-regions becuz it doesn’t feel right to wash myself down there first then wash my face.  Unless you’re into that kind of stuff, then… i got nothing to say.

Ok, shall stop at Cleansing for now.

Leave a Reply

